Non-Alcoholic or 0.0% Alcohol: Using language that evokes trust.

Dorothy Eyo
3 min readJul 14, 2021

I do not drink alcohol; so when I go wine shopping I look out for brands without alcohol. 0n 3 different occasions, 1 brand has drawn my attention but I have never just been courageous enough to buy it; why? “0.0% alcohol”.

When you start searching things like this, then you know something’s not quite right.

Just an image of me trying to figure out the meaning of Zero

I did a survey on Instagram and here’s what I found

Those who do not drink alcohol

Some people gave their reasons, and the theme of responses from non-alcohol drinkers was…

And those who drink alcohol…

So these responses have led me to ask

“Who is the target market for 0.0% alcoholic drinks? Because 100% of those who drink alcohol are for almost obvious reasons not buying, and 91% of those who do are not buying because we do not trust it…as this person responded.

As content designers we know too well how important words/language are, it’s why we do not just use whatsoever words we feel. It’s why we do user research and very importantly language research so as to determine what words resonate with our users/audience; what words evoke trust. Your feelings/opinions are valid but it’s not the data.

According to google, Zero means : no quantity or number.

Non means : the absence of any.

They both mean the same thing but humans are humans; as far as this scenario is concerned, we trust the word “Non”.

As a side note, if you run a 0.0% alcohol wine business, you will definitely sell; but not to the 91%.

LOVE this response.

Seriously, why?

--

--

Dorothy Eyo

I share my content design journey. Hi Newbie, you are not alone.